An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

Wedgies Are Women’s Biggest Undie Problem
Techniques for Everyday Visualization Meditation

Chakra meditation is a great way to help relieve stress and anxiety; it calms the senses thereby enabling the mind to become still and the body to become passive. Most meditations involve focusing on an object which can range from watching a candle flame, concentrating on your own breath or focusing on a sound.

Meditation relies on a person being able to turn their thoughts inward and eliminating any other thoughts, with practice this becomes easier to do and can be practiced anywhere and at any time you need to.

General Meditation Facts

An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

Awareness links all forms of meditation, some forms are designed to help induce a particular frame of mind, healing meditations can help to detoxify the body, religious mantra based meditations can bring you closer to God and meditations aimed at opening the heart can help with you gain compassion.

Meditation will help you to relax and become focused on the task at hand, many busy executives have found that they don’t need levels of high anxiety to cope with the demand of their work but have found instead that they are more productive after having calmed down after meditation.

Even those with the busiest schedule will have time to meditate, meditation can take as little as 10 to 15 minutes and the more you practice the easier it will be to let go and relax.

If you are concerned about falling asleep while meditating or you become anxious then try meditating with your eyes open, or if you start your meditation with your eyes closed then open them slowly half way through your meditation if you feel you might fall asleep.

Meditation relies on non-judgmental awareness, just accepting things as they are and dealing with them. It isn’t about changing things or striving to reach a higher level, you should just let things happen and be aware of the moment.

You don’t have to sit in any particular position or do anything special in order to meditate, you can practice a simple form of meditation anywhere you are and at any time you need to, there is only one basic rule to all forms of meditation and that is calming the mind while relaxing the body and letting go of all worries, fears and thoughts while remaining alert.

You can mediate while doing all activities in your daily routine, for example if you are taking a shower then concentrate and focus the mind just on the simple task of showering and let go of all other thoughts. For example notice how the water feels against your skin, how the sponge or washcloth feels, and take notice of the fragrance of the soap, focus on all these aspects while enjoying the simplicity.

Understanding Chakra Meditation

An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which literally translates to wheel (or disk). In meditation, chakra refers to wheels of energy circulating throughout the body, of which there are seven main ones. Try to visualize a swirling wheel of energy where matter & consciousness meet.

These swirling wheels of energy correspond to enormous nerve centers within the body. Each of the seven primary chakras includes bundles of nerves and important organs which correspond to our psychological, mental, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s vital that our seven primary chakras remain open, aligned, and fluid. If there’s a blockage, energy cannot flow. Think of something as simple as your bathtub drain. If you allow too much hair to go into the drain, the bathtub will back up with stagnate water and eventually bacteria and mold will grow. So is also with the chakras and also our bodies. A bathtub is straightforward; it’s physical so the fix is easy.

Keeping a chakra open is a bit more of a challenge, but not too hard when you’ve got knowledge. Take for instance, a wife, who has recently lost her husband. She then gets chest pains, and develops acute bronchitis, which remains in the chest. The whole heart chakra is affected in this event. If she recognizes the connection between the bronchitis along with the loss, healing will occur much quicker if she honors the grieving process and treats that in addition to the physical ailment.

The Chakras of Matter

The first three chakras, starting at the base of the spine are chakras of matter.

First Chakra: The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.

Second Chakra: The Svadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for our creative expression.

Third Chakra: The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and it’s the area from the navel to the breastbone. The third chakra is our source of personal power.

The Fourth Chakra: The Connection Between Matter and Spirit

Located at the heart center, the fourth chakra, anahata is at the middle of the seven and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The fourth is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection.

When we work through our physical chakras, or the first three, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.

The Chakras of Spirit

Fifth Chakra: The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. The fifth chakra includes the neck, thyroid, and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue.

Sixth Chakra: The Ajna chakra is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is our center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focus on opening the sixth chakra will help you hone this ability.

Seventh Chakra: The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head.

Practice Chakra Meditation


An Introduction to Chakra Meditation

time to read: 4 min